Marshall Scholarship

Marshall Scholarships

The Marshall Scholarships were founded by the British Parliament in 1953.


The Marshall Scholarships were founded by the British Parliament in 1953 and commemorate the humane ideals of the European Recovery Programme (Marshall Plan). They are funded by the British government and are administered in the United Kingdom by the Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission and in the United States by the British Embassy in Washington, D.C. and seven regional Consulates-General.


The scholarship covers two or three years of university fees, cost of living expenses, annual book grant, thesis grant, research and daily travel grants, fares to and from the United States and, where applicable, a contribution towards the support of a dependent spouse.


The Marshall is open to United States citizens who, by the time they take up their scholarship, will hold a degree from an accredited four-year college with a minimum GPA of 3.7. Recipients may study in any field at any university in the United Kingdom.


Applicants for Marshall Scholarships are required to outline their proposed field and level of study and to nominate a first and second choice university in the United Kingdom; they are further required to justify their choice of course and institution in a statement that forms part of the application process. Final selection of candidates is made by eight regional selection panels in the U.S. (Centre is in the Chicago region.)


Up to 40 scholarships are awarded each year.

Campus Advisor

Milton Reigelman



More information is available on the Marshall Scholarships Web site: